Friday Tech News

Where Has Phil Been? More AI, Big Deals, re:Invent, ChatGPT rivals, and more!

Good morning and Happy Friday!

I really should say welcome back, and thanks for understanding a brief 2-week hiatus from this end. It’s been crazy busy with work, Thanksgiving, preparing for the holiday’s, traveling, and prepping to run my first half-marathon!

Thank you for bearing with me. Onto the consolidated version of this weeks’ edition of FTN.

Thank you so much for making this a part of your Friday morning coffee time. I'm Phil Moroni, and I'm an Account Executive in the Information Technology industry here with another edition of Friday Tech News!

What is this? This is a newsletter that provides updates and insights on the latest trends and developments in the technology industry. I am a professional who specializes in supporting IT leaders in evaluating, investing, and managing people, processes, and technology tools that support their businesses.

Each week, I summarize relevant industry updates from popular Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM's), software publishers, and managed providers. The goal of my research and newsletter is to keep you informed about current trends and events that may impact your business from a trusted and reputable source. It's just information I'm sharing, and I follow and work with hundreds of partners in the industry, keeping track of their growth, changes, and evolution so that you don't have to.

Bottom Line: As you focus on improving your business through digital initiatives, my commitment is to keep you informed of the fast-paced changes and trends taking place so that you can plan ahead and stay ahead of the game.

Key areas of focus for me are:

  1. Cloud Computing, Security, Trends

  2. Developer & Security Tools

  3. Networking & Infrastructure Tools

  4. End User Tools & Workspace Tech

  5. Emerging Technologies and Future Concepts

If you have any questions, would like information about any specific vendors I follow, or would like to have a conversation about any topic that is challenging you, I invite you to engage with me! I value feedback immensely and would love to know what you find valuable about this newsletter so feel free to reach out!

Thank you for reading and stay digitally and physically safe!

Phil

OEM News & Updates 📰 

AWS re:Invent

Articles I Liked This Week 💡

Yes - not what I traditionally report on, but really loving this app in iOS 17.2. Are you using it yet? It’s so cool. Don’t sleep on the Gen AI impact Apple will be quietly making. Recently I had my AirPods in and my wife texted me a picture…Siri literally described the picture perfectly to me over audio… 🤯 

Mental health is a critical component of wellbeing - take time to try journaling. It’s fun and healthy. I’ve personally been using the Day One app for over 1000 consecutive days and love the benefits it brings me.

Tech Funding & M&A 💸

  • AI21 Labs is an Israel based generative AI and product development platform that enables software devs to build generative AI and LLMs.

  • Snow is a Sweden based software asset management platform that provides solutions such as risk mitigation and software license optimization for businesses.

  • Together is a California based open source platform that helps researchers, developers, and companies to develop open source Generative AI models.

  • Raftt is an Israel based cloud platform that allows DevOps teams to create and share development environments.

  • Respell is a California based no-code AI platform that enables sales and product teams to build custom AI workflows.

  • Replicate is a California based open source platform that allows software developers to run machine learning models in the cloud.

  • Vast Data is a New York based SaaS platform that provides solutions such as data warehousing and enrichment for enterprises.

  • Bigeye is a California based data observability platform that provides solutions such as data pipeline monitoring and anomaly detection for enterprises.

Meme of the week 🤣

Three memes this week since I haven’t posted in a few!

Recommendations 👉🏻

This is a section that I intend to build out more! Know fantastic newsletter resources for information? Please let me know so I can start linking appropriate reads here!

Return on SecuritySave hours of market research with a weekly review of cybersecurity funding and industry news in 5 minutes, with the occasional deep-drive blog post.