Friday Tech News

1/6/2023

Good morning and Happy Friday!

Welcome to the first newsletter of 2023! Thank you so much for making this a part of your Friday morning coffee time. I'm Phil Moroni, and I'm an Account Executive in the Information Technology Services Industry here with another edition of Friday Tech News!

What is this?This is a newsletter that provides updates and insights on the latest trends and developments in the technology industry. I am a professional who specializes in supporting IT and procurement leaders in evaluating, investing, and managing people, processes, and technology tools that support their businesses.

Each week, I summarize relevant industry updates from popular Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM's), software publishers, and managed providers. The goal of my research and newsletter is to keep you informed about current trends and events that may impact your business from a trusted and reputable source. It's just information I'm sharing, and, I follow and work with hundreds of partners in the industry, keeping track of their growth, changes, and evolution so that you don't have to.

Bottom Line:As you focus on improving your business through digital initiatives, my commitment is to keep you informed of the fast-paced changes and trends taking place so that you can plan ahead and stay ahead of the game.

Key areas of focus for me are:

  1. Cloud Computing, Security, Trends

  2. Developer & Security Tools

  3. Networking & Infrastructure Tools

  4. End User Tools & Workspace Tech

  5. Emerging Technologies and Future Concepts

If you have any questions, would like information about any specific vendors I follow, or would like to have a conversation about any topic that is challenging you, I invite you to engage with me! I value feedback immensely and would love to know what you find valuable about this newsletter so feel free to reach out! 

Thank you for reading, and stay digitally and physically safe!

Phil

OEM News & Updates 📰

Articles I Liked This Week 💡

  • In 2023, Southwest will become the new SolarWinds, but, for Digital Transformation. From sources I've talked with that work at SolarWinds, they've really turned it around and, I think that Southwest will do the same. They'll bring in the right people to help them transform legacy applications and software dependent systems to new systems of scale and cloud native services. Just watch...headlines like they've experienced don't come without consequence, hopefully in the positive direction.

  • This to me screams a classic case of the business not understanding IT. Decision makers at the business level need to rely and listen to their information technology team be it a sys admin or a CISO. These systems are archaic and have been in place for far too long and, the article cites how the airline industry is ripe for this sort of modernization.

Tech Funding & M&A 💸

Meme of the week 🤣

Spotlight 🔭

A newer section I'll be testing out this year, Spotlight will feature something specific for the week that I've thought about / mulled over / can't shake off my mind. This week, I'm thinking about Data Security vendors...specifically, Israeli Data Security Vendors.

Using the IT Harvest Dashboard, I found that there are 29 vendors in the Data Security space from Israel. Looking at them from a funding perspective, I'm expecting to see big things from a few of the vendors in this space this year. Those vendors include Cyera, Dig Security, and Satori. 

In 2022, Dig Security grew in the triple digits - a feat that none of it's competitors experienced. That's interesting to me. And, since they've recently acquired a great sales rep in the Southeast, I'd expect to see additional US based headcount start to proliferate as they penetrate downward into the market and into the various IT channels of VARs and SI's. 

The Analyst Dashboard is super cool. Taking a deeper dive into a vendor I'm curious about, Akeyless, we see great growth in headcount while they raised great capital. It's really interesting to see and helps me narrow down my focus for who to follow this year in the market. I love graphs that go up and to the right in pretty fashions...this looks like a stable company that we should expect big things from this year. 

Have you tried playing around with the Analyst Dashboard yet? If not, you should seriously consider it this year!

Recommendations 

Return on SecuritySave hours of market research with a weekly review of cybersecurity funding and industry news in 5 minutes, with the occasional deep-drive blog post.